About the Department

Find out more

Text Size

Field Services Division

Field Services Division

Field Services Division

The Addison Police Department is organized into two primary divisions. They are the Field Services Division and the Support Services Division. These two divisions are subdivided into smaller sections and/or shifts as are appropriate. Each division is led by a Deputy Chief who works under the direction of the Director of Police and, in general, coordinates the activities of their respective divisions.

The Field Services Division consists of the Patrol Section, which is divided into the following various units:

  • Patrol Section
  • Traffic Safety Unit
  • Community Response Unit
  • Crime Free Housing
  • Community Service Officers

Patrol Section
The allocation of personnel within the Patrol Section is made by assignments to four geographic areas, the Traffic Safety Unit and the Community Response Unit. Each geographic area, as well as the Traffic Safety Unit and the Community Response Unit, is made up of a field supervisor and patrol officers, with a designated Commander responsible for each area or unit.

The Patrol Section is responsible for the protection of life and property, the prevention of criminal activity, the apprehension of criminal offenders, the preliminary investigation of calls for police service, and continuous 24-hour patrol by uniformed police officers in marked police vehicles. This responsibility includes such activities as

  • Enforcement of statutes, ordinances, and traffic laws
  • Responding to and handling calls for service
  • Preliminary investigation of all crimes and incidents unless otherwise specified
  • Follow-up investigations when feasible
  • Suppression and prevention of crime through varied methods of patrol
  • Traffic accident investigation, traffic direction and control
  • Preservation of the peace
  • Arresting offenders for violations of State statutes and Village ordinances
  • Evidence collection and preservation
  • Provision of emergency services
  • Regulation of certain businesses or activities as required by law
  • Preparing cases for prosecution in court
The Patrol Section is charged with the major function of the police agency — the prevention of crime and the arrest of violators. It is the major part of the Department’s efforts to preserve peace and to protect life and property through enhanced relationships with the community (Community Oriented Policing). In addition, the Patrol Section is established for the main purpose of rendering the most effective police service possible to the public. Officers respond to calls and emergencies of every conceivable nature and are trained and equipped to take effective action under the most trying circumstances.

 

NAME EMAIL PHONE EXT.
Anderson, Steve SAnderson@addison-il.org 7317
Arrez, Ramiro RArrez@addison-il.org 7374
Avello, David DAvello@addison-il.org 7331
Baquero, David DBaquero@addison-il.org 7373
Bauer, Carl CBauer@addison-il.org 7301
Below, David DBelow@addison-il.org 6817
Besch, Mark MBesch@addison-il.org 6814
Brucal, Omar OBrucal@addison-il.org 7900
Chaidez, Cesar CChaidez@addison-il.org 7390
Chiappetta, Emilio EChiappetta@addison-il.org 7918
Diaz, Catherine CDiaz@addison-il.org 7325
DiFatta, Salvo SDiFatta@addison-il.org 7310
Fuentes, William WFuentes@addison-il.org 6807
Garcia, Anselmo AGarcia@addison-il.org 7370
Hostetler, Tom THostetler@addison-il.org 7334
Johnston, Timothy TJohnston@addison-il.org 6805
Kalicki, Maciek MKalicki@addison-il.org 7363
Kazak, Steven SKazak@addison-il.org 6809
Kolodziej, Andrew AKolodziej@addison-il.org 6812
Lazic, Marko MLazic@addison-il.org 6802
Manton, Amanda AManton@addison-il.org 7379
Mares, Peter PMares@addison-il.org 6808
Merendino, Joseph JMerendino@addison-il.org 7360
McDermott, Joseph JWMcDermott@addison-il.org 6804
Ogundare, Tosin TOgundare@addison-il.org 7389
Olejarz, David DOlejarz@addison-il.org 6803
Oskroba, Steve SOskroba@addison-il.org 7303
Peterson, James JPeterson@addison-il.org 7376
Porta, Brian BPorta@addison-il.org 7344
Prafke, Douglas DPrafke@addison-il.org 7311
Reyes, Maria MReyes@addison-il.org 7377
Riley, Bradley BRiley@addison-il.org 6806
Shelton, Laurie LShelton@addison-il.org 6801
Sinkule, John JSinkule@addison-il.org 7346
Tennyson, Mark MTennyson@addison-il.org 7364
Torres, Nicholis NTorres@addison-il.org 7305
Wadsworth, Mike MWadsworth@addison-il.org 7369
Zajdel, Brian BZajdel@addison-il.org 7354

 

Other Specialties
Police officers in the Patrol Section are also eligible for training in specialized areas within their assignment including

  • Evidence Technician
  • Field Training Officer
  • Firearms Instructor
  • Crime Prevention Officer
  • Gang Tactical Officer
  • Juvenile Officer
  • Physical Fitness Instructor
  • Accident Reconstructionist
  • D.A.R.E. Instructor
  • Undercover Narcotics Officer
  • Criminal Investigator
  • Arson Investigator
  • Foot Patrol Unit
  • Crisis Intervention Team

Crisis Intervention Team
The Police Department established a Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) in 2018. This team of law enforcement officers received 40 hours of intensive, specialized training on assisting individuals and family members in the community who suffer from mental illness, behavioral disabilities, veterans' issues and addictions. Community members can identify CIT officers by the standardized blue CIT pin worn on their uniforms.

CIT officers network with surrounding mental health/addiction recovery agencies, Addison Township, National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) and several hospitals to provide appropriate care and resources to individuals and family members. Members of the CIT respond immediately and those in need of services are identified by officers and resources are provided to them.

The Addison officers have made a tremendous impact in the community by deferring cases to Mental Health Court as an alternative to arrests in some cases. Often the mere understanding of the illness allows officers to establish a rapport with individuals and families and provide educational resources and referrals. CIT officers network with facilities in DuPage County and aid those who are arrested with post-arrest/pre-trial resources.

If you would like more information about Addison's Crisis Intervention Team or local resources, please contact the Police Department at (630) 543-3080 and ask to speak with a CIT officer.

The Police Department provides several services to at-risk citizens or those with special needs. Residents are encouraged to register themselves and family members in the MedicAlert LEAP Program (designed for those citizens who may wander or become disoriented), the Police Department Premise Alert Program and Smart911 at www.Smart911.com to facilitate fast and accurate communication with 911. Resources are also available through the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) website at www.nami.org.


Community Service Officers

Community Service Officers (CSOs) are non-sworn personnel who are cross-trained in a variety of areas. CSOs are responsible for the following functions of the Addison Police Department:

  • Handling animal complaints
  • Parking enforcement
  • Abandoned auto removal
  • Traffic control
  • Non-emergency requests for service
CSOs can also specialize in
  • Property and evidence control
  • Business ordinance enforcement